How to Get to Akaroa

Akaroa is located around 80 to 90 minutes drive from Christchurch city and Christchurch International airport. It is an easy drive in a car through New Zealand farmland and then over the stunning Banks Peninsula hills to Akaroa. See http://maps.google.com/ for detailed directions of how to get from Christchurch to Akaroa.
Once in Akaroa continue along Rue Lavaud, which turns into Beach Rd. look for the long wharf in the centre of the town. You’ll see our large blue building on the wharf with a dolphin mural painted on the roof. Print this map out to help you navigate.  You can also find us at 61 Beach Road.

Cruise Ships

Cruise ship passengers will disembark directly onto the main wharf in Akaroa. This is where our main booking office and gift shop is located. Please allow enough time for you tender boat to reach the wharf in time for your activity check in

Shuttle Service / Tours / Helicopter

For tours to Akaroa including transport from Christchurch you can choose one of these options.  All of these operators link with Black Cat Cruises.

Adventure Canterbury www.adventurecanterbury.co.nz Tel 0800 847 455

Akaroa French Connection http://www.akaroabus.co.nz/ Tel 0800 800 575

Akaroa Shuttle www.akaroashuttle.co.nz Tel 0800 500 929

Canterbury Leisure Tours www.leisuretours.co.nz Tel 0800 484 485

Canterbury Trails www.canterburytrails.co.nz Tel 03 337 1185

Discovery Travel http://www.discoverytravel.co.nz/content.asp?PageID=3464&orgfn=content Tel + 64-3-3578262

Explore Canterbury Phone 0800 08 07 06 (NZ only) www.explorecanterbury.co.nz

Kowhai Tours www.kowhaitours.com Tel 03 388 7899

Garden City Helicopters www.helicopters.net.nz Tel 03-358 4360

 Directions to Akaroa Map

 

OR contact a reservations centre for assistance such as

Christchurch information centre (i-site) www.christchurchnz.net Tel 03 379 9629

The Akaroa i-site http://akaroa.com/activities/akaroa-adventure-centre Tel 03-304 7784

akaroa-cruise2